My Shea Butter Mixture for Skin and Hair.

Hey Ya’ll, I hope everyone had a great weekend, I know I did. I went and stayed at my sister’s house in Akron and we had a great girls weekend hanging out, shopping, and she got her nails done. By the way,  am I only girl who really doesn’t like getting fake nails on? I love how they look, but after about a day I am ready to tear those freakin things off my fingers, because they feel weird to me and are a nuisance ha ha, so I usually just get them done for special occasions. Sorry for the rant, anyways back to my post. So I wanted to talk about the benefits of a Shea butter mixture and how I make mine.

First of all you want to make sure the Shea butter you have is completely pure. The Shea butter on the left is some you don’t want to use, I got this  at fair, and while it might be pure, the yellowish orangish color means that a dye has been added to it. The Shea butter on the right  I got from Whole Foods, and it is pure, no dyes added, pure Shea butter should only be a white, ivoryish, or off white color!

Compare Shea

 

I made my mixture by first taking the Shea butter, putting it into a bowl and whipping it with a hand-mixer, I did this until most of  the lumps and bumps were out of it. I don’t know if I don’t know how to use a hand-mixer or what, but I had Shea butter flying everywhere. Then I added my oils: Tb of Coconut oil, a teaspoon of almond, a teaspoon of grape-seed, and Tb of Extra virgin olive oil.

 

 

Why?:

Coconut Oil: Moisturizes, Conditions, Prevents dandruff, and able to penetrate strands

Almond Oil: Prevents hair loss, Provides shine, and Strengthens hair

Grape-seed Oil: Light, odorless, and protects against moisture loss

Olive Oil: Adds extra softness, Penetrates strands, and Helps split ends and flyways

I used these oils because of the moisturizing abilities, and lightness compared to other oils but you can use any you want, I am a big user of oils in my hair regimen and I believe there is an oil out there for everyone. After I add the oils i used they hand-mixer again until everything is light and fluffy, this is what it looked like:

Shea butter

 

After I am done I just put it back into the container it came in:

Finshed shea butter

 

Benefits of Shea Butter:

  • Successful in treatment of various skin aliments
  • helps restore elasticity to the skin
  • intensive moisturizer
  • helps to minimize stretch marks

 

This is really easy to do, and very nourishing, especially for natural African-American hair.

Uses: 

  • To moisturize after my leave in when i co-wash or wash my hair
  • to moisture cuticles
  • to moisturize lips
  • to relive dry feet
  • To moisturize skin

Thanks for reading guys, I hope you found this informative. Have you ever made a Shea butter mixture, or do you have any favorite hair oils? I’d love to know!

 

2 thoughts on “My Shea Butter Mixture for Skin and Hair.

Leave a Reply

